JASON | © studio c | all rights reserved

Friday the 13th – Part 1

jason_part1_banner

I’m a huge horror fan.

I have been since the age of 6 or so when my brother and I started watching films like The Exorcist, Psycho, Hellraiser, and of course just about any slasher film we could manage to find.  It’s a curiosity thing, I think, in a lot of ways.  Especially being attracted to the slasher genre at that age.  As an adult, I still love horror, but I lean more toward the psychological and story driven plots than the gore and violence.

The argument is that, as adults, we’ve seen enough of reality, enough of what’s “really” scary – why seek it out as a source of recreation, right?  Kristen Lamb has written a great series of posts about the importance of horror and I invite you to check it out here.

For me, the horror genre – and all its many incarnations and genres – will continue to be a great source of inspiration.

Last week, I took a look at the iconic shower scene from Psycho and created a mixed media piece interpretation.

For this week’s exercise, I decided to draw upon a similar inspiration and create an illustration of Jason Vorhees – one of my favorite, nonsensical baddies – that I will flop into a background created during part 2 of the exercise.

(Click any image to enlarge)

Leave a Reply

