© studio c | all rights reserved: sherbet illumination

Creative Refuel – Illuminated Text, Part 1

© studio c | all rights reserved: sherbet illumination

As anyone who works in design will tell you, after awhile, you need a break.  It’s easy to get burnt out when your money maker is also your escape.

I’m talking about your creativity and how you need to routinely, and lovingly, recharge it.

Working against tight release schedules that require high levels of detail orientation, creativity, interactivity, and – if nothing else – the sheer desire to get it done, you need to remember to stop and find the joy in your work.

When I find myself in need of a little creative refueling, I enjoy lettering.  I’m no professional, but lettering is something I’ve enjoyed fiddling with since I was a child.  Lettering is as much an art as it is a science.  Letters can (obviously) be beautiful while still conveying their given meaning.

So, for the first part of the exercise, I set out to create half an alphabet – or thereabouts – as much as I could do in 30 minutes or less.  The goal was to have fun, but to also work on comfort and familiarity with the Wacom and Illustrator.  The result is a sherbet-y collection of letters shown below.

© studio c | all rights reserved: sherbet illumination
(Click to enlarge)

Leave a Reply

