"In the Fall" (c) cassie l. taylor, all rights reserved.

Drawing – Part 3

I begin the third experiment by allowing myself to make a mistake…

I’ve never attempted anything close to a self-portrait, for good reason. I’m simply not a good enough artist to make that leap. The finished experiment, “In the Fall” is something that simultaneously makes me cringe and intrigues me.

The piece begins as a photograph taken last fall on a farm in the Nisqually valley. The photograph is brought into Photoshop, desaturated, adjusted, and simplified. Exported to Manga Studio, the image is then penciled, and inked – again, simplified as much as possible into as few lines, shapes, and shadows as I can manage while still maintaining context.

I struggle with the work because I want to make myself look a little different (which I do, successfully), but overall, the piece ends up being reflective.

"In the Fall" (c) cassie l. taylor, all rights reserved.
“In the Fall”
(c) cassie l. taylor, all rights reserved.
Leave a Reply

