"The Secret" (c) cassie l. taylor, all rights reserved.

Drawing – Part 2

With my first digital composition in a rough, finished state, I decide to tackle something a little more my style.

“The Secret” is an 8-bit, grayscale piece completed using the Wacom, Illustrator, Photoshop, and Manga Studio EX 4. I find Manga Studio EX 4 is the perfect tool for pencil/inking work. It’s quick, intuitive interface and tools really help you get down to the business of defining a piece’s look and feel.

Nuts and bolts: I started by sketching, on paper, two women sharing a secret. Brought into Photoshop, the sketch gets a quick clean up and is then imported into the Studio. In Manga Studio, I pencil the basic shapes in the sketch, making some aesthetic adjustments, then using the pen tool, I lay down the ink.

It’s an efficient, and satisfying, process that leaves me with something that has the look and feel of a hand-drawn panel.

"The Secret" (c) cassie l. taylor, all rights reserved.
“The Secret” (c) cassie l. taylor, all rights reserved.
Leave a Reply

